June reads

Apparently I was a reading swot during June. I read a whopping 13 books – which I think is my record since I started these reading blogs! It was difficult to whittle it down, but here are my faves…

I was giddy to be invited to the launch party for Twice Hexed by Julia Tuffs, and fans of Hexed will not be disappointed by this latest instalment. More period magic, more island fun, more mystical misunderstandings. This young adult fantasy is perfect for readers of Kate Western and Lucy Cuthew.

It was almost impossible to put down The Castaways by Lucy Clarke. I genuinely sat back after reading this book and said ‘heck’ to myself several times. If you liked LOST but hated the ending, this has all the plane crash vibes you need with a conclusion that won’t have you grinding your teeth. There’s also sisterly love and really sensitive infertility representation, and it will honestly grip you until the last page.

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune blew me away. I would have liked it to be double the length so that I could spend more time with the beautiful characters. This book is simply gorgeous. The magical world is so creative and unique, and you’ll fall a little bit in love with every person/magical being you encounter. I really can’t recommend this one enough, and it’s a must-read for fans of Fredrick Backman and Becky Chambers.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell kicks off what is most likely my favourite trilogy of all time. This was my fourth or fifth re-read of this book, and the only moment of discontent I experienced was when it ended. There’s magic, love (both romance and friendships), a broken chosen one, and when you’ve finished it there are TWO more stories to dive into. There’s also fire and sour cherry scones and boarding school fun and dragons and pining and kissing and PLEASE READ IT. I love it so much!

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley was another re-read. This is a book that it’s hard to fully appreciate without returning to it. The writing is not only beautiful but the plot and world are so precisely crafted. Even though I knew how it would end, I was no less glued to the page during this second reading. Read this if you enjoy nautical tales, time-travel shenanigans, and heart-breaking characters.

As always, read them all and we can be chums 😊

I’ve started a bookstagram! Join me for even more shouting about books – you can find it here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: