March reads

March was a splendid reading month – a mix between fun rom-coms, magical adventures, and even a bit of non-fiction! These were my highlights…

A Marvellous Light by Freya Marske is my first five star read of the year. It is PHENOMENAL. Beautifully written and wonderfully crafted, I had to force myself to slow down so that I didn’t race through it too quickly and then make myself sad because I had to leave the characters behind. It’s got so much that I love – hidden magical societies, found family, hidden romance, and WHO CAN RESIST THAT HECKING COVER?! Perfect for fans of Natasha Pulley and Becky Chambers, but also everyone should read it so that I can STOP SHOUTING.

I was incredibly fortunate to be sent an advance copy of The Extraordinary Adventures of Alice Tonks by Emily Kenny, and it’s one that any lovers of middle grade adventures should add to their TRB right now. Reading this was doubly special, as I worked with Emily on an early version of this story before she even had an agent. It was lovely to see how the novel has changed and grown. If you love talking animals, autistic main characters, and boarding school fun then this is the one for you.

I cannot recommend the Writers’ and Artists’ Guide to Self-Publishing highly enough to anyone thinking of going down this route. It runs through the essentials – editing, design, production, sales, and marketing – all in an inspirational and practical way. If you want to publish your words well, then make sure you get a copy of this!

Beach Read by Emily Kenny is one of my favourite rom-coms this year – and I’ve read a few! One of my biggest peeves is when the love interest is just a vaguely male shaped thing who the main character can bump/rub/hump up against, but this is not the case here! I honestly don’t think the title or cover does justice to this story – it’s deep and heartfelt, delving into the pain of loss and the difficulties of starting something new when people have lots of baggage. This is great for any fans of Olivia Dade or Ali Hazelwood.

As always, read them all and we can be chums 😊

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: